Board of Trustees
  • What is a School Board? Video

    Video courtesy of: Texas Association of School Boards (TASB)

New Braunfels ISD Board of Trustees

Sherry Harrison, NBISD Board Vice President, District 5
Sherry Harrison
Board President
District 5
Term Expires: 2021
Sherry Harrison, first elected to the Board of Trustees in May of 2009, has served as Board Secretary and Vice President during her previous terms. Harrison currently serves as Board President as of May 2018. She has been a resident of New Braunfels since 2000.

Harrison volunteers at the NBISD elementary school libraries, delivers Meals on Wheels, serves as officer/chairperson for the Mid-Texas Symphony and is a member of the City of NB Arts and Culture Task Force.

She and husband Matthew have two daughters both of who were distinguished graduates of NBISD.  
Wes Clark, NBISD Board Secretary, At-Large

Wes Clark
Vice President
Term Expires: 2019

Wes Clark, a 1999 graduate of NBHS, was elected to the board in 2013 and reelected in 2016. Clark decided to run for school board to serve the community that he loves and to join in the process of trying to provide and excellent education for all the students of NBISD. He currently serves as Board Vice President as of May 2018.

Clark is also the vice president of Rocky Hill Equipment Rentals. He volunteers his time coaching youth sports in a number of New Braunfels community organizations including the NBYSA, UPWARD, NBLL, YMCA and CYO.

He and wife, Christina, have three children attending NBISD.  

David Heefner, NBISD At-Large Trustee

David Heefner
Term Expires: 2019

Dave Heefner, a resident of New Braunfels for the past 33 years, retired from teaching in 2015 after 21 years in NBISD at Carl Schurz and Oak Run Middle School. Over the past several years he has received several awards including being named a Silver Unicorn and NBISD District Secondary Teacher of the Year. Heefner, an avid artist and musician, is a member of the contemporary service band at First Protestant Church. After retirement he has also spent time mentoring students at Oak Run Middle School. Heefner is currently the Board Secretary as of May 2018.

He and his wife, Tammye, have two daughters that both attended NBISD. 

Keith D. Smith, NBISD District 1 Trustee

Keith D. Smith
District 1
Term Expires: 2019

Keith D. Smith was elected to the Board of Trustees in 2010 and reelected in 2013 and 2016. After an honorable discharge from the United States Marine Corps, he returned to New Braunfels with his family and has been a resident of NBISD for the past 22 years. He is a general contractor, remodeling homes and businesses since moving to New Braunfels. His wife and daughter are both NBHS graduates. 

Michael Calta
District 2
Term Expires: 2020

Michael Calta was elected to the Board in 2017. He is a Real Estate Broker/Investor and has been a resident of New Braunfels since 2010. His civic positions include serving as the 2017 Vice Chair of the NBISD Facilities Planning Committee and as the Board President of The Oasis at Lake Dunlap HOA. From 2004 to 2010, he served as a school board member for the Chino Valley Unified School District and held the office of President, Vice President and Clerk.

Calta decided to run for school board out of gratitude for the way NBISD has treated their children that attend or have attended NBISD schools. He and his wife, Gena, have three children - one NBHS graduate and two attending NBISD schools.

Eric Bergquist
District 3
Term Expires: 2021

Eric Bergquist, a 1987 graduate of New Braunfels High School, began his first term on the NBISD Board of Trustees on May 21. He is employed by GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals as a Territory Account Manager. He is very active in the community and currently serves on the NBISD Education Foundation Board of Directors. He and his wife, Dawn, have two children who recently graduated from NBHS.  

Matthew Sargent
District 4
Term Expires: 2020

Matthew Sargent was elected to the Board in 2017. He is an Electrical Engineer with the US Army Corps of Engineers in the Military Construction branch and has been a resident of NBISD since 2007. He has a degree in electrical engineering from Texas Tech. He currently serves as a volunteer with the Walnut Springs Elementary Robotics Club and Competitive Robot Team (FLL). This is his fourth year coaching an FLL team and his first year coaching an NBISD team.

He decided to run for school board to make a difference and help improve education. He felt that being on the school board was the best way to assist the community and the students of NBISD. He and his wife, Lisa, have four children that attend NBISD schools.


Page Updated: May 23, 2018

Copyright © 2018 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM